Oh Atlanta, my old friend

I’m in Atlanta for my first blogging conference this week. I don’t know exactly what to expect but I’m excited to find out.

This particular conference is called Savvy Blogging Summit. It is geared toward marketing, SEO, monetization, affiliate marketing, networking, and social media, all of which I know next to nothing about, so I’m psyched to soak in all of the new information (yes, I’m a nerd).

I will also get to meet a bunch of other bloggers face-to-face, which I’m looking forward to, despite being slightly intimidated because I assume that they will all be well-established and have a solid plan for their blogs while I am a novice who just likes writing stories and most definitely has not yet developed any sort of plan. (Inferiority complex much?)

That doesn’t really matter though. I just love getting the chance to be around a bunch of people who are excited about what they are doing and I’m sure I’ll learn a lot.

The best part about this trip though is that I get to be in Atlanta and see some of my best friends from way back! I lived here from New Year’s Eve 1998 (but I partied like it was 1999-sorry, had to do it) through 2001 and it was a fantastic time in my life.

I had lots of built-in friends from college here and I made so many more when I arrived. Several of my friends were in a band (Day by the River) at University of Miami and they were primarily from Athens. Quite a large crew of band members and friends relocated back to Georgia after graduation and eventually my college roommate and I made a New Year’s resolution that we would join them by the following New Year’s Eve.

It is hard to explain the huge, friendly, crazy family that we all were but that time was kind of magical. All of those people helped shape who I was and who I would become. Incidentally, I have never been surrounded by as many cool, laid-back, fun women as I was when I lived in Atlanta. We lived life to the fullest and never missed a chance to party, and rock, and spread some love. (Can I get a hell yeah?) The world was full of possibilities and we were just getting started.

These days we have all spread out around the country, we’re mostly all parents, and partying for me these days is a tad more tame than it was in the day (like eating frozen yogurt and watching The Bachelorette lame tame…and I love it!)

But I will forever cherish the irreplaceable memories of the time when I was young and wild (emphasis on wild…I didn’t get the nickname StephRock from going to church too much) and free, and my best friends were all around me. Everyone should be so lucky as to get to spend some formative young adult years in Atlanta.

If you liked this story, please feel free to Share it
(there are literally buttons everywhere!)
Connect with me on Facebook , follow me on Twitter, and pin with me on Pinterest.
Thanks!

 

7 thoughts on “Oh Atlanta, my old friend

  1. I haven’t been a good commenter, but I have enjoyed reading all of your blog posts, and this is another great one. One of my best friends from college at Lenoir-Rhyne in Hickory, who is from Lakeland, FL, lived in Atlanta after we graduated from Fall 1996 to 2000, when she got married and moved to Charlotte. (She and her husband and two children also just moved to
    Tampa from Charlotte this summer for his job.) I was able to visit her not as much as I want, but a couple of times, and your experience reminds me of hers then. One of the times I did visit was in May 1997 for Music Midtown, and it was great fun.
    I’ve also been meaning to tell you I love the oranges and orange blossoms in your heading. It makes me think of the JJ Grey and Mofro song “Orange Blossoms,” that I love.
    I can’t wait to read more.
    Becky Smith

    • Hi Becky!

      Thank you! I love orange blossoms, I think they smell better than any other scent in the world. And, since I’m such a Florida girl and my stories are mostly Florida-centric, I figured it makes sense. Thanks for commenting on it.

      Music Midtown is fun! I saw Widespread Panic there for the first time.

      I don’t know that particular JJ Grey song but I’ve seen them in concert before. I’m going to check it out. Perhaps I will make it my theme song 🙂 🙂
      Take care! xoxo

  2. Pingback: Is this what a midlife crisis is? - Steph's BestSteph's Best

Leave a Reply

