My first paid blogging job…yay!

My posts on Cafe Mom

A couple of my posts on Café Mom

Someone’s paying me to do this y‘all! Well, not this exactly, but Café Mom has hired me to post a blog every day in their Florida Moms group. This is my second week of writing for them and I love it.

I can barely begin to express how awesome it feels to be paid to do something that brings me so much joy on it’s own. To receive that vote of confidence that my writing is worth something to someone else is the cherry on top of the icing on top of the cake.

It’s been a long search for me to find what I feel like I’m “supposed to be doing”. I’ve always been a late bloomer, so it’s really no surprise that figuring out what makes me tick career-wise has taken until my (very) late 30’s.

And–doesn’t it often happen this way?–it took some painful experiences for me to figure it out. I had a bad divorce that left me guilt-ridden and angry and seriously drinking too much. Writing about it all seemed to me the best way to purge the negative emotions. It worked.

Terrible sadness brought me to a beautiful place, it allowed me to tap into a way of expressing myself that I didn’t know I was capable of. (Insert cliché about clouds and silver linings here.)

I would say to anyone who is not living the life that they want to lead, not doing what it is they really want to to do, figure out a way to do it. You know what you really want to do because that is what you do that doesn’t feel like work, what is rewarding even without financial compensation. Read The Big Leap by Gay Hendricks, it’s eye-opening. You’re welcome for the completely unsolicited advice. 😉

l want to thank my college roommate for recommending me for the job–Amy Stein Boshnack, Editorial Director for The Stir. (Check out her funny Daily Stir video excerpts. She’s excellent.) And thank you to everyone who takes a few minutes out of their day to read my stuff. I love you for it.

………………

If you liked this story, please feel free to Share it or Like it (buttons below). Thanks!

Connect with me on Facebook , follow me on Twitter, and pin with me on Pinterest.

Cafe Mom article archives

8 thoughts on “My first paid blogging job…yay!

  1. Congrats on such a great position! I believe the darkest moments prepare us for those silver linings; our hearts are more able to appreciate the joys.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog; hope you enjoy the posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

